lancer 5000 race report

This past Saturday I ran the inaugural Lancer 5000.  This is a 5k, proceeds go to help support the Cal Baptist track team.  This is a dead flat course, it had PR written all over it.

It was a beautiful day, about 50 degrees at the 8am start time.  My friend Joel and I did not get a great spot at the start, so the first quarter-mile was a bit hectic.  Fortunately for me Joel lead me through the crowd and got me to a place where I could run without slower runners in front of me.  First mile in 6:18.

The second mile went well, 6:38, and the third mile was a little slower at 6:42.

I was not able to kick at the end.  I started the Standard Process detox this week and it has really drained my energy and strength.

The only complaint I have is the course had way too many turns.  I wore my Garmin 305. I counted the turns, (using the SportTracks software) the total was 14. Way too many.

Looking  forward to the race next year, hopefully with a modified course.

Stats: 19:50 (First time under 20 min in my adult life)

6:32 pace

170 avg. heart rate

About drbdc

image Dr. Brian Feilteau ("Dr. B") has been a practicing chiropractor for the past 18 years and has built his practice solely on the referrals of his patients. He is a graduate of the Palmer College of Chiropractic, Davenport, Iowa. Specializing in a variety of traditionally "hard to treat" conditions such as fibromyalgia/chronic fatigue and thyroid conditions, he firmly believes that many health problems can be treated through nutrition, supplementation and chiropractic adjustments. From organic food to supplements to an overall healthy life-style, Dr. B walks his talk.
This entry was posted in Racing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment